Jazma Hair Inc.

If you are ever in the Greater Toronto Area, I invite you to check out Jazma Hair Inc. founded by Asha McLeod. They are located at 8 St. Joseph Street near Yonge and Wellesley in the heart of downtown Toronto. Jazma is well-known for their Wash and Wear Relaxer for women who would like the manageability of a relaxer but the option to wear their hair either straight or curly.

A typical first visit to Jazma will consist of a consultation where a hairstylist will check the current health of your hair (e.g. elasticity, the presence of split ends, heat damage etc.) followed by a discussion focused around your hair goals. All information will be kept in a file created specially for you outlining an action plan, recommended products and any other notes regarding your preferences and your hair. One of the main things I love about Jazma and a few other salons in Toronto is that they stick to their schedule. If you have an appointment for 5:30 you will be seen at 5:30. Sadly, that’s something that’s rare with black salons.

I’ve tried the Wash and Wear Relaxer in the past but eventually decided to stick to my own hair texture. I know many clients who love it, it just wasn’t for me. Not to mention that I change hairstyles almost as often as I change outfits. Two things I find myself going back to Jazma for on a regular basis are their blowouts and their salon line of products called Kerasoft. Jazma is one of the few salons that I can walk out of after getting a blowout and I can feel my hair moving in the wind like I just stepped out of a shampoo commercial. Her products do not contain any harmful ingredients and don’t weigh hair down like a lot of products made for black hair. One of my favorite Kerasoft products is Primoils. It is a blend of essential oils containing macadamia nut, sweet almond, jojoba, organic coconut, olive oil and vitamin E just to name a few of the ingredients and can be used on both the hair and the body. It provides really great moisture with just a small amount. Recently, I’ve found myself mixing it in with my shea butter to moisturize my skin during the winter months.

Overall, I’ve found the staff at Jazma  quite friendly, knowledgeable and they’ve always respected my ever-changing needs. Jazma also provides Master Classes for those of you who are in the hair care business and want to become more familiar with their Wash and Wear Relaxer and off-the-scalp application technique. For the internet junkies like myself, take a moment to check out Jazma’s website @ http://jazma.com/


4 Comments on “Jazma Hair Inc.”

  1. Shammy says:

    The stylists at Jazma salon are friendly but they are not knowledgeable about hair. They were more concerned about talking me into the expensive services than what my hair really needed. In the end, the product used in my hair left me with extremely damaged hair that sheds every time I comb. This was after I had told the stylist that I didn’t want any chemicals that would damage my hair. She assured me that my hair wouldn’t get damaged. I now have to cut off all the treated hair. If you don’t like paying exorbitant prices for poor services, stay away from this salon.

    • Celina says:

      Wow… I’m sorry you had such a bad experience! The girl I used to go to was named Roxanne and from what I’ve heard she left there a long time ago.

  2. rosalinda says:

    Hello. This is actually going to be my first time trying it. I am going to get around feb 2016 so I am looking so forward to maintaining a healthy head of hair!!! I just would like to know if there is anyone else around this year or so. Can you tell me your experiences and so forth .. thank you and have a blessed day….

    • Celina says:

      To be honest, I wrote this article years ago. I have been going to Studio 86 which is near Davenport and Avenue Road. They deal with all types of hair textures and I have yet to be disappointed. I strongly suggest that you check them out because in my opinion they’re better than Jazma.


Leave a comment